top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturenawar saadi

a few weeks on...

So this blog post took me longer to write than expected. The buzz of union in speech’s first event didn’t die down as quick as I’d thought and as much as it’s nice people saying how good the event was. There was the question of “when is the next one?” and since that’s all I’ve been focusing on.



But before I get into the future let me share more of the past first. So in all honesty I was extremely nervous as In Words wasn't just uis first event but also the first event I'd ever organised and hosted. And with that comes a lot of overthinking and questions:


What if nobody comes?

There won't be enough space - or too much space?

What if people don't like the event?

What if I seem nervous and all over the place?

What if people get bored?


All of these questions amongst many others were flying around my head and to be honest they didn't leave until the event finished and everybody left. But when I look back now I didn't do a bad job for starting union in speech in July, right off the back of a Digipigz networking event.



In Words was better than I’d ever dreamed of, people loved the atmosphere, and the performers were amazing. But the trouble now is ensuring I recreate that and exceed expectations on the next one.


As much as I've been planning the next event, I've also been figuring out where I want to take union in speech as a platform. Will it remain a one time thing? Will it become a regular night? Will it branch out and do projects? The reality is I want to do a lot of things with uis but I’m trying to run before I can walk with this. So I’m taking a step back and focusing on one (or two that's my maximum!) things at a time.


So all I can say now is another event is coming in February and a potential project sometime in the year but one at a time.


One at a time.


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page